Confessions of a Fabricholic

Several months ago, in January, when we were all making New Year’s resolutions, I foolishly said I was going to cut back on my fabric and embroidery purchases. Although I’ve bought bits and pieces, the Memorial Day sales, brought me to ruin! The sale was 25% off of everything except for sewing machines. I went overboard! The good news is that I saved over $100 at that one store. Of course I’m not counting the sales at Joanns, the glitter at Art Glitter Institute that was on sale for 50% off, or the larger purchase I had to make (minimum was $100) so that I could buy a $14 rhinestone headband for my niece’s graduation. The other good news is that my grand-daughter is also graduating high school so she’ll also get a headband- since I had to buy a minimum of three. To get to over $100, I ordered an assortment of rhinestone necklaces, so I have a head start for the fall craft shows.

Speaking of quilting, I started another Diamond quilt. Decided to get rid of some beige fabric, so cut it all into 8.5 inch squares. Had enough for 60 squares which will make two quilts. Drew a line down the middle, another line two inches from that. You just have to sew and flip six million 1.5 inch strips, leaving beige in the middle. Square the blocks, lay them out, add a border and you’re done! I’m almost done with the squares, thank goodness!

Also did some work on my embroidery machine. The very cutest purple and pink heart with wings, with a white ribbon with “Angel” on a hot pink t-shirt. Should have it up on Etsy in the next few days. Also stitched a towel with one of the designs from Balboa. That was my big purchase at the end of last year. Turned out nice, very good digitizing.

Back to my day job tomorrow morning. Finished with the month’s work last Monday. One more day of boredom before the new month starts. Can’t wait!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy
    May 31, 2011 @ 11:08:41

    I feel much better about buying 1 1/2 yards of denim for $7.50 over the weekend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

