Trying to control my spending

Last February I went to an Anita Goodesign seminar that was held in Phoenix. It was great, and as is typical for me,  I spent a lot of money! But, I figured, I could pay for it over time with no interest, which is what I did.

So in two weeks, I’m going to it again. Since I’ve stated that one of my goals is to use what I already have, I’m getting ready for the battle of trying to control my spending.

I’ve cataloged my embroidery packs and other electronic media that I couldn’t live without. There are 148 items on the list! This doesn’t include any packs or designs that I’ve bought online. I am out of control!

I remember buying the Kalidoscope Kreater. What I don’t remember is buying the three other companion disks of frame frenzy, quilters polygons, and making projects volumes #1. The store must have been out of any other volumes, or I’m sure I would have bought those too. I have the HP Quilt Label maker program, which would probably be easier and quicker than creating designs and stitching them out. I remember making some labels in the program, but don’t remember ever printing them out on to fabric. I just got some fabric sheets, so that may be a possibility, since I’ve promised to post my labels as I get them done.

So it’s time to set some goals. I must make ABSOLUTELY sure that I bring my list with me to the seminar as my first defense against overspending. Second, I must be able to get interest free payments. I still have six payments to go on my commercial embroidery machine, so I think I am safe from buying the 10 needle machine. Third, try not to sign up for the Anita Goodesign diamond club (get designs each month for prepaid price) since I’ve haven’t done many this year. I can always stock up when the local shop has sales. Lastly, I must NOT go to the Phoenix Craft and Sewing Festival today, or all is lost!

It’s time to finish up those smocks that I forgot to add the ties to. Also plan to take more photos and post them to the Etsy shop this weekend.

Have fun everyone. Talk to you soon,

Janice

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. textisle
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 10:46:00

    Hi Janice,
    I’m fighting the same problems with impulse buying. On Wednesday I was at our local quilt store for my fibre arts group meeting. I got there early because one member had told us she would only be able to come for 15 minutes and I wanted to be sure I didn’t miss any of that.

    So of course the staff were still there with the cash register open and the bargain fabrics right next to it …. and in the classroom they had strategically placed the Gypsy Sit Upon for test runs, er sits.

    While at home retesting the Sit Upon before mailing it to Senior Sprout, I realized we need one for here too. Back at the store yesterday I picked up their last one, and there the bargain fabrics were again …

    Reply

  2. happycatsmessyhouse
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 11:15:36

    Just not going works well for me. One of my friends plans to go to Stitches West, a yarn convention in Santa Clara. I have enough yarn, and not much cash flow, so I am not going.

    Organizing my current stash into one place really helped me see how much I have, and to realize how long it would take to use it all up. It is in cubes along one wall, and then some more that doesn’t fit. The visual image helps me to resist buying more- or to only buy what I need to complete a project.

    Sometimes vendors will continue their seminar or convention pricing for a week or two afterward. That allows you to go home and think about it or check your budget before making the purchase.

    My situation is so tight that I can not make unneeded purchases. If you have a line of credit, it is easy to spend. In this case I might leave the credit card at home or in the car.

    This seems to be a common problem with crafters. I purchased some fabric from a woman who had a barn full of fabric and yarn. She started to sell parts of her stash when it became very clear that she could not use a fraction of it with in her normal life expectancy. I have another friend in a similar situation. She could quilt and sew 60 hours a week for years with the stash she has.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

