Hand crafted versus store bought

I went to a baby shower today. My friend and her husband are expecting their first child in just a few weeks. With about two dozen people in attendance, she got a lot of very nice things. And since she will be having another shower in two weeks, the baby will probably have so many clothes, that she won’t be able to wear them all before she outgrows them.

As big bag after big bag was being opened, I started feeling that my hand-made gifts would really disappoint her. She got several dozen onesies, minkee blankets, socks, mittens, a baby bouncer, and more.

I gave her a 36×48 quilt with pink princess blocks alternating with pink blocks with dots, two handmade pink heart bibs, and an embroidered bib with “baby diva” in pink. In addition, I included a little scrapbook that one of my fellow crafters had made. She said she really liked everything, but internally I feel like I didn’t do enough because I didn’t “buy” something.

How do you feel about getting or giving hand crafted gifts versus store bought?

I don’t know if there’s enough of us sewing or crafting now. I went to two Joann’s after the shower and they all have so much open space in them, which is quite a change from just a few years ago.

Let me know. I’m off to stitch out some designs from Urban Threads. For those you machine embroider, bunnycup embroidery has some cute Valentine designs.

Janice

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deb
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 12:38:39

    Your gift sounds lovely, Janice, and one that should be kept and cherished for the next generation. Personally, I’d rather receive a handmade gift crafted with love than store-bought any day. I understand your comment about some of it being a dying art, but I believe there are still many sewers and crafters out there. Wish I had the skill! I guess we each go where the calling takes us.

    Do you sell any of your products – in craft shows, or on Etsy or E-Bay? I so admire quilters. Keep stitching!

    Reply

  2. Cheryl Allison
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 23:35:10

    Are you kidding? All those handmade gifts sound fabulous! And I’ve seen your work on Etsy, so I know your sewing surpasses store-bought stuff. In our household, we use store-bought gifts until they wear out or we get tired of them. Then we donate them or toss them. But we don’t part with the handmade stuff–at least not for a few decades. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

